Tokelau is situated in South Pacific Ocean and it is New Zealand's territory. Tokelau comprises of three coral atolls which lies north to Samoan Islands, South of Phoenix Islands, east to Tuvalu, Southwest of Line Islands and northwest of Cook Islands. UN General Assembly nominated Tokelau as the non self-governing territory. The three atolls of Tokelau are Atafu, Fakaofo and Nukunonu. Tokelau's and New Zealand's time zones are different i.e. about 22 hours of difference for majority of time in a year. The evidences of human settlement are dated back to 1,000 years. According to the expeditions, there were only temporary residences of fishing parties in the islands.


Great Britain became the protectorate of Tokelau in 1877, when Britain claimed the jurisdiction of all Pacific Islands which remained unclaimed. In 1926, the administration of Tokelau was transferred to New Zealand. Now similar to Cook Islands and Niue, Tokelau is moving towards free association with the New Zealand. Queen Elizabeth II is the head of the state that is represented by an acting administrator. The administrator is appointed by New Zealand’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Tokelau has smallest economy than any other country of the world. The island entirely depends on the subsidies of New Zealand.


The population of Tokelau is 1,433 and the nations are known as Tokelauans who are from the ethnic group of Polynesian. The dominant religion is Christianity and the major language is Tokelauan. English also is a spoken language. Because of the limitations of natural resources as well as the overcrowding made the people migrating to Samoa and New Zealand which result in the decline of 0.9% of the population every year. Some of the industries that bring income are agriculture, livestock, stamps, coins, fishing, wood work, copra production, bananas and so on. New Zealand pays directly to meet the cost of education and medical requirements in Tokelau.


Tourist destinations are not much in Tokelau, but whatever available on the three atolls is exciting and enjoyable. Atafu is the smallest among the three atolls which is most traditional one. You can find ancient styled dugout canoes and tradition houses in Atafu. Fakaofo is another atoll known as ‘the Chiefly Island’. Tourists can visit the conventional village hall there in which you can find one coral slab that personifies the ancient god of Polynesians – Tui Tokelau. There are around 62 islets in Fakaofo and Fakaofo has highest population than the other atolls. In Fakaofo, there are about 600 people.


Nukunonu is another atoll with 24 islets and largest among all three atolls. Nukunonu houses largest lagoon with several pandanus trees used for weaving. Tourists can enjoy fishing, boating, snorkeling, lagoon diving, scuba diving, nature walking and hiking in Tokelau. Tokelau is the best place to purchase handicrafts. You can find beautiful coral reefs around the islets. Travelers can enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the island and the people of the island are welcoming and friendly to the tourist. Tokelau is a best place to relax and holidaying.